The Hotspot with Zama Mseleku - Ukhozi FM

SamaJobe
3 min readNov 14, 2021

--

Created by Sandy Nene

Executive and Content Producer: SamaJobe

Photo: https://www.facebook.com/zama.mseleku.37

Why Radio?
Radio has the power to touch people’s hearts, and to change people’s lives, to give hope and entertain, nothing fills my heart with joy like knowing that I have touched someone’s heart and changed someone’s life in a positive way, that’s why I chose radio over everything, it’s in my heart. Being in studio makes me happy, I feel complete when I’m behind the mic.

Which other radio stations have you worked for?

My radio career started back in 2012 where I hosted an old school music show at Ugu Youth Radio, I later moved to Radio Sunny South where I hosted the afternoon drive show, I have been knocking on big doors over the years as my dream has always been to work for big radio stations like Ukhozi FM. In 2013 I auditioned for Ukhozi FM’s female sports commentator and I made it to the Top 5.

Did you study radio?
I didn't study radio at all, it's a God given talent, however working for community radio stations was more like a training that taught me a lot of things you need to know about radio, I studied Performing Arts which focuses more on acting.

Besides radio, what other projects are you currently busy or involved with?
Beside radio, I am busy working on my other talents which are singing and acting. I will only share more details when the time is right, I also work closely with Youth development organizations and young entrepreneurs, I am currently the face of a black owned fashion boutique, I am an event organizer, and an MC.

Photo: https://www.facebook.com/zama.mseleku.37

Who is your South African Radio icon?

Linda Sibiya (MR Magic) is one of the people I look up to, his Radio was alive. He would make you listen to him even if you didn't want to, he'll make you laugh and give you hope at the same time. He did the Magic behind the mic, I aim to follow in his footsteps continue doing Magic in my own way behind the mic as I am called "Zama Zama Magic" I also look up to people like Khetha Gwala, Khathide Ngobe and the Queen of Radio Dudu Khoza.

What can we expect from you in the next Five years?
In few years to come I would love to see myself in some of the TV productions, running a successful bussiness and also continuing to change people's lives through radio.

How often do you listen to other radio stations and which radio station do you usually listens to?
Most of the time I listen to Ukhozi FM as it has always been my favorite radio station, but I do listen to community radio stations as well.

What has working on radio has taught you?
working on radio has taught me to be strong and never let the negative comments affect you in anyway as you meet people who like you and dislike you, it has taught me to be brave and to understand that umuntu ngumuntu ngabantu, we need each other.

Photo: https://www.facebook.com/zama.mseleku.37

What advice can you give to aspiring radio broadcasters?
You can have a role model but never try to be her/him, be yourself, be unique and let people love you for who you are.

Twitter: @zamamagic
Insta:@zamamthombeni
FB: Zama Mseleku

Catch Zama “Zama Zama Magic” Mseleku giving you “Luyazamazama Ukhozi” on Ukhozi FM every Sundays between 03h00 and 06h00 in the morning! Phihli! Phohlo!

--

--

SamaJobe

South African 🇿🇦| Based in India 🇮🇳| Qualified Journalist | Actor/FB: Sama Jobe IG&Twitter: @iamsamajobe